top of page

What are Chakras?

In order to fully understand the effect that Reiki has on our energy body I wanted to share some important and powerful information about chakras! The term chakra (pronounced 'cha'-'kra') is Sanskrit for “wheel.” It is defined as a spinning, coloured wheel like vortice or center of light energy within the human body that regulate all its processes. The ability of your energy centers to function optimally is what keeps you psychologically, emotionally, physically, and spiritually balanced. Seven major chakras are positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the top of your head, they are considered the focal points for the reception and transmission of energies. Each chakra has its own vibration frequency, color, and governs specific functions that allow energy to flow from one part of the body to another. In addition to the seven major chakras that are commonly referred to, we also possess minor chakras in places such as the hands, feet and ears. It is believed that up to 114 chakras exist within the body.

Below is a list of each major chakra, starting with the base of the spine and moving up. Given is the chakra name, location, color, element and function:

  • Root (1st) — Base of the spine; red; earth; governs survival instincts, vitality of physical body, stability,

  • Sacral (2nd) — Lower abdomen; orange; water; governs sexuality, relationships, family, emotions, self-worth/-esteem, security, adaptability to change

  • Solar Plexus (3rd) — Upper abdomen; yellow; fire; governs digestion, metabolism, impulse control, ego, anxiety, strength, joy, happiness

  • Heart (4th) — Center of the chest; green; air; governs compassion, unconditional love, empathy, energizes blood and physical body with life-force

  • Throat (5th) — Throat; blue; ether; governs communication, power of spoken word, expression of self, openness, truth, honesty, loyalty

  • Third Eye (6th) — *Pituitary / Pineal gland; indigo; light; governs rationality, wisdom, imagination, intuition, clairvoyance, peace of mind

  • Crown (7th) — Top of the head; purple; thought / will; governs connection with the Divine, spiritual awareness, enlightenment, selfless service, perception beyond space and time

*sources vary regarding if it is the Pituitary or the Pineal gland that is directly related to the 'Third Eye' chakra. Both are located deep within the center of the brain and are responsible for regulating the body.

Along with their effect on the energy of the body it is believed that chakras have a physical manifestation as well. When one or more of the chakras are in a state of imbalance, the mind/body health becomes at risk. Past events, daily activities and sources of stress result in disruptions and fluctuations in our energy which can also influence how we feel and act in the world and effect how we manage our energy day-to-day. The health of our energy body is reflected by our physical body. Stress, illness and disease tend to occur as a result of these systems no longer working in harmony with one another. When we experience physical issues, it is almost always due to the fact that our body is communicating what we have neglected to observe within ourselves.

Restoring the power of your chakras is about how you can take back control of your health and wellness!

Reiki aids the body in releasing stress and tension by creating deep relaxation; Reiki frees and aligns the body’s energy system, which in turn releases pain on all levels – physical, emotional, mental and spiritual. It gently and effectively opens blocked meridians (energy pathways) and chakras (energy centres) and clears the energy bodies, leaving you feeling relaxed and at peace. Recharge and balance your energy with a Reiki chakra healing session today!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page