top of page

What is a Reiki Healer?

A Reiki Healer or often referred to as a Reiki Practitioner, Reiki Therapist or Reiki Master is an individual who has received Reiki training through an attunement ceremony called Reiju. The unlimited supply of intuitively guided life force energy is transferred from teacher to student by initiation to three Reiki energy symbols that permanently remain within the aura and emerge unconsciously through the hands. Each energy transmission opens up the 'inner healing channel' and attunes the student to its vibration frequency. This amplifies the flow of energy and heightens the vibratory rate of the body.

Reiki is easy to use and simple to learn and you can practice it anywhere at anytime. The most profound meaning of Reiki is to develop oneself as much as possible, to encompass love, compassion and respect for the self and others; to grow spiritually and finally become one with the whole. There are different types and levels of Reiki healing, all of which are an adaption of Usui Reiki. Though different methods and symbols have been developed and used for each type, the principle behind them remains the same - to improve one's health or enhance the quality of life.

Reiki Level 1 (also called the 1st degree), is the foundation of all three levels. This degree is permanent and remains with you during your entire life (even if you stop practicing Reiki) Therefore, it is important that it is your decision to take the first degree and not allow someone else to decide on your behalf. The main purpose of Reiki Level 1 is to learn about self-healing, which involves taking responsibility for your own health and well-being. After completing Reiki Level 1, you may also heal others, as well as animals freely or by donation for non-professional purposes.

The 2nd degree is also called Reiki Level 2. The main purpose of Level 2 is to do distant/absentee healing, group healing and also to become a professional Reiki Practitioner. The 3rd degree is also called Reiki Level 3 or Reiki Master Teacher Level. It is during this attunement that the student will receive a fourth symbol - the Master Symbol. Used to channel high vibration energies to create harmony and balance, the Master Symbol connects you at a deep level with your higher consciousness – bringing you into higher dimensions; to the source of all. The main purpose of Level 3 is to become as well as to live, the spiritual life as a Reiki Master. Upon completion of the Master Level you have the option to teach but the importance for becoming a Reiki Master is not really about teaching, it’s about making a lifetime commitment to understand the healing art of Reiki. It’s about making a commitment to offer a healing practice and maintaining a spiritual discipline.

Consciously deciding to improve oneself is a necessary part of the Reiki healing experience and necessary in order for the Reiki healing energies to have lasting results. The purpose of a Reiki Master is to help people realize that in order to heal the spirit, the client must accept responsibility for his or her healing and take an active part in it. Its use is not dependent on one's intellectual capacity or spiritual development and therefore is available to everyone. While Reiki is spiritual in nature, it is not a religion. It has no dogma, and there is nothing you must believe in order to learn and use Reiki. In fact, Reiki is not dependent on belief at all and will work whether you believe in it or not.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page